Monday, April 20, 2009

Griffon News Receives Awards

Please join usin congratulating the staff of The Griffon News for winning 19 awards this past weekend at the Missouri College Media Association conference in St. Louis.

The highlights of the evening ceremony were taking six first place awards in Division II, competing against other non-daily newspapers in the state such as Truman, Northwest, Southern, UCM, etc. In the Sweepstakes category, which was awarded based on the total number and type of awards in all of the categories combined (4 points for first place awards, 3 points for second, 2 points for third, 1 point for honorable mention), Missouri Western finished second behind Webster--beating papers at accredited programs such as SEMO and several programs with more than twice the number of journalism majors.

Sweepstakes: 2nd place
General Excellence: Honorable Mention

First Place Awards:
Website: Matthew Fowler
Regular Column: Dan Donan
Editorial: Lisa Crawford
Entertainment Review: Ryan Richardson
Story Illustration: Marty Ayers and Mandie Nocita
Feature Writing: Addison Ford

Second Place:
Sports Column: Gregor Avey
Multimedia: Mark Murray
Investigative Reporting: Ellis Cross

Third Place:
Opinion/Editorial Section: Charlene Divino
Sports Section: Gregor Avey, Marty Ayers, Matthew Fowler, Mandie Nocita
Sports Column: Matthew Fowler
In-Depth Reporting: Gerri McClain
Multimedia: Anna Flin
Story Illustration: Marty Ayers and Mandie Nocita

Honorable Mention:
Investigative Reporting: Ellis Cross
News Photography: Marty Ayers

No comments: