Monday, April 22, 2013

Griffon News Wins Missouri College Media Awards

Please join me in congratulating our students who won awards this last weekend in Joplin at the Missouri College Media Association. We were competing in Division II, with other mid-sized institutions. Dr. Bob Bergland, the newspaper adviser, was especially proud of the work done in the main writing divisions, as the newspaper did very well in Editorial, Sports, In-Depth and Investigative reporting categories.

Below are listed the individual and group awards received by MWSU students in the state categories:

Sweepstakes (overall number of awards)
Third place: The Griffon News, Mo. Western

News Writing
Honorable Mention: Katelyn Canon 

Editorial Writing
Second Place: The Griffon News
Third Place: The Griffon News 
Feature Writing
Honorable Mention: Eboni Lacey 

Sports Writing
Second Place: Kyle Inman
Third Place: Thomas Huitt-Johnson
Honorable Mention: Thomas Huitt-Johnson

In-Depth Reporting
First Place: Matt Hunt, Ellis Cross, Eboni Lacey, Albert Shelby and Brian Ramsey
Second Place: Dave Hon, Katelyn Canon, Matt Hunt and Ellis Cross

Investigative Reporting
First Place: Eboni Lacey
Second Place: Caitlin Cress
Honorable Mention: Matt Hunt and Ellis Cross

Regular Column
Honorable Mention: Dave Hon

Entertainment Review
Honorable Mention: Caitlin Cress

Feature Photography
First Place: Jason Brown

Sports Photography
Second Place: Jason Brown

Political Cartoon
Third Place: Chad Hammontree
Honorable Mention: Chad Hammontree and Andrew Setter

Story Illustration
Third Place: Chad Hammontree and Andrew Setter

Sports Pages
Third Place: Jason Brown, Tevin Harris, Evan Roberts, Kyle Inman, Christian Mengel, Albert Shelby and Andy Inman

Photo Page
Second Place: Dave Hon and Jason Brown

Web Page
Third Place:

Best Overall Newspaper
Honorable Mention: The Griffon News

Congratulations to Dr. Bergland and the staff of The Griffon News!

No comments: